From the pages of
Sublette Examiner
Volume 2, Number 5 - May 2, 2002
brought to you online by Pinedale Online

The FFA officer team for 2002-2003 consists of Micki Morss, Mae Petrson, Zack Mortenson, Monte Bolgiano, Greg Allen, Mardy Nelson and Maggie Roberts.
FFA Chapter installs new officer team

by Rhonda Swain

FFA Chapter installs new officer team

At its annual awards ceremony, the Pinedale FFA Chapter went back to a past tradition when it served a delicious meal prior to honoring its members.

The event, which took place Monday, April 29, at the school cafeteria, featured guest speaker Jim Bousman, a former Pinedale High School student who returned to the area to ranch.

In his speech at the school cafeteria, Jim Bousman spoke of how, as a young boy, his dad encouraged him with a wave and a smile. Now Jim does the same for his dad. Jim also talked about how there is a future in agriculture for FFA students, even if it isnít in production agriculture.

Bousman told those assembled that your "education is key ... what you put into it is what youíll get out of it." He also spoke of the values learned from family, FFA and agriculture, and said that those values should be "passed around."

The chapter typically honors community members at its awards ceremony, and this year was no different. FFA advisor Shawn Jeter presented Dick Noble with a plaque in appreciation for donating two colts to the chapter, to be used as the chapter sees fit. Jeter reported that Yates Petroleum has donated $750 to the program, and encouraged a word of thanks to that business.

Several members of the chapter received plaques in honor of their hard work in the chapter, including:

Star Greenhand: Maggie Roberts
FFA Alumni Scholarship: Taylor Selby; Tara Bolgiano; Tiffany Swain; Ty Swain
Star Chapter Farmer: Monte Bolgiano
State FFA Degree: Tara Bolgiano
P/D Angus: Mae Peterson
Member of the Year: Tara Bolgiano
DeKalb Award: Tiffany Swain

Three of the senior officers gave retiring addresses as well: Tiffany and Ty Swain as retiring president and vice president and Tara Bolgiano as retiring reporter.

Several community members were given honorary member status for their support of the program through the years.


Tiffany Swain
Ty Swain
Mae Peterson
Tara Bolgiano
Tyler Sluyter
Shane Danze
Micki Morss


Micki Morss
Mae Peterson
Maggie Roberts
Mardy Nelson
Greg Allen
Monte Bolgiano
Zack Mortenson

Photo credits:  Delsa Allen , Delsa Allen

See The Archives for past articles.

Copyright © 2002 Sublette Examiner
All rights reserved. Reproduction by any means must have permission of the Publisher.
Sublette Examiner, PO Box 1539, Pinedale, WY 82941   Phone 307-367-3203