From the pages of
Sublette Examiner
Volume 2, Number 21 - August 22, 2002
brought to you online by Pinedale Online

2002 Primary Election

Graham ousts Aronson

In shades of past county attorney races, challenger Van Graham defeated incumbent Dale Aronson for the Republican nomination for the position in Tuesday's primary.

Aronson has served as county attorney for one term, after beating incumbent Clark Allan for the position by a narrow margin in 1998. Graham's margin of victory wasn't a small one though - it totaled more than 400 votes.

Graham was humble in his victory when contacted last Tuesday night, stating: "It seems like people have something they want me to do there in that office. I'll work hard and take care of the public's business."

Graham will take office with the start of the new year.

Olsen, Cooper win

The race for who would represent the Republican party in the run for House District 22 was one of the last races called Tuesday night, with Monte Olsen of Daniel eventually coming out the winner over Jackson's Jim "Bubba" Shivler. Olsen was the challenger and Shivler the incumbent.

"I'm very happy and very excited," said Olsen in a short interview Wednesday morning, pledging to work even harder in his bid for the general election nod than he did in the primary. Olsen will face Democrat Tony Gosar of Pinedale in November's general election.

House District 20 voters elected Stan Cooper of Kemmerer over Frank Johnson for the Republican nomination. With no Democratic challenger, Cooper will take office early next year.

Kramer succeeds with write-ins

Susan Kramer of Pinedale succeeded in getting enough write-in votes to appear on the general election ballot as a Democrat for county commissioner. She'll face incumbent Republicans Betty Fear of Big Piney and Bill Cramer of Bondurant for one of two seats. William Belveal's challenge to the incumbents for the Republican primary failed, with Fear gaining the most votes (1,294), followed by Cramer's 1,198 and Belveal's 580.

Cramer stopped by the courthouse on election night to monitor the returns. When the final numbers were tallied, Cramer said: "The people have spoken. I'm honored and humbled."

Worl, Barney & Jensen to RHCD

The Sublette County Rural Health Care District board will soon have three new members, with Mary Lynn Worl of Pinedale, Bill Barney of Big Piney and Jerry Jensen of Boulder getting the vote of confidence by Sublette County voters.

The three new board members will replace outgoing members Jim Greenwood, Bob Dew and Dave Racich, none of whom sought re-election.

Schooley elected coroner

Don Schooley won the Republican nomination for county coroner. With no Democratic challenger, Schooley will replace outgoing coroner Bill Meyer.

Schooley had 711 votes, Don Pope had 676 votes and Frank Morrison had 347 votes.

County election overall

Sublette County once again had good voter turnout in Tuesday's primary election, with 61 percent of the county's registered voters casting their ballots, with Daniel having the highest voter turnout, at 71 percent.

Although the polls closed at 7 p.m., it was just two hours later that the Associated Press declared Eli Bebout the winner of the Republican governor's race in the state, reflecting how Sublette County voted in this race as well. But when it came to the Democratic nomination for governor, the county didn't agree with the other voters. While Sublette County Democrats threw their support behind Paul Hickey, the state majority vote went to Dave Freudenthal, who will now face Bebout in the general election.

A similar situation occurred in the state superintendent of public instruction race, with Sublette County Republicans voting for Jim Twiford, but the state majority giving their nod to Trent Blankenship, who will face Democrat winner Kathy Emmons in the general election.

Unofficial Sublette County Primary Election Results
1-11-31-42-12-22-44-14-25-1Total votes
Total registered voters8876252885673441032362251713446
Total votes cast55238015333921553139160982089
Percentage of registered voters voting62615360635159715761
U.S. Senator
Crosby "Cros" Allen (R)88662146269254810339
Mike Enzi (R)361257103247154398594651405
Joyce Jansa Corcoran (D)4324132118111614151
U.S. Representative
Barbara Cubin (R)3482531082391534580129641419
Ron Akin (D)29156148062484
John Swett (D)119648033852
Eli Bebout (R)179136631168825437430754
Ray Hunkins (R)13490371113620324620526
John Self (R)117153112031
Bill Sniffin (R)6951154032321159255
Steve Watt (R)3821510140978112
Kenneth Casner (D)21121011211
Dave Freudenthal (D)1814697034970
Paul Hickey (D)3815595271688
Toby Simpson (D)24244020119
State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Trent Blankenship (R)1116828694320303826433
John Mingle (R)5750123617416197218
Jim Twiford (R)15390311026210263013517
Neil Waring (R)533920363510131310229
Kathy Emmons (D)25144118082678
Christopher Shoults (D)1570118000445
Richard Wiederspahn (D)138632021439
State Representative District 22
Monte Olsen (R)32221781309011139890
Jim "Bubba" Shivler (R)1391134516263738414
Antone "Tony" Gosar (D)483110211613121
State Representative District 20
Stan Cooper (R)205125330
Frank A. Johnson (R)7450124
County Commissioner
William Belveal (R) 17813022855812493016580
William Cramer (R)2692331072011203869100611198
Betty Fear (R)316216982311463672123561294
County Coroner
Frank Morrison (R) 79751767438271813347
Don Pope (R)114904019312426265013676
Donald Schooley (R)25615665361815577335711
County Attorney
Dale Aronson (R)216131541204512415633708
Van Graham (R)26021280182144377994451133
Hank Ruland (R)3762751102571534396127671504
Mary Lankford (R)41629212628417948109141741669
Roxanna Jensen42630112328017347108142741674
Janet L. Montgomery39928012027817346102139711608
Clerk of District Clerk
Marilyn Jensen42230112128617145106145731670
Rural Health Care District
K. Erik Ashley116762031111101011286
Bill Barney1761577223413432507031956
Lee Covell 301612516311379202
Jackie Hunt128107381538924428625692
Jerry Jensen27517584634611546932809
Nannette Latchford94741421175281325291
Donese "Tex" Williams50431219013030192119514
Mary Lynn Worl380241819446127794491074

See The Archives for past articles.

Copyright © 2002 Sublette Examiner
All rights reserved. Reproduction by any means must have permission of the Publisher.
Sublette Examiner, PO Box 1539, Pinedale, WY 82941   Phone 307-367-3203