From the pages of
Sublette Examiner
Volume 2, Number 10 - June 6, 2002
brought to you online by Pinedale Online

Election '02 Briefs

RHCD race

  • Eight candidates filed seeking one of three open positions on the Sublette County Rural Health Care District Board. The candidates are Leon E. Covell III and Tex Williams, both of Marbleton, Bill Barney of Big Piney, Jerry Jensen of Boulder, Jackie Hunt of Daniel, Erik Ashley, Mary Lynn Worl and Nannette Latchford, all of Pinedale.

    Belveal wants seat

  • William Belveal of Pinedale has filed to face off with incumbents Bill Cramer of Bondurant and Betty Fear of Big Piney for a Republican nomination for one of two Sublette County Commission seats.

    Aronson v. Graham

  • Incumbent Dale Aronson will square off with Van Graham for the republican nomination for the position of Sublette County Attorney.

    Three for coroner

  • Three people will vie for the county coroner slot: Frank Morrison, Donny Pope and Don Schooley. Incumbent Bill Meyer isn't seeking re-election.

    All remaining county offices on the ballot have incumbents seeking re-election, with no opponents having filed to contest the seats.

    House District 22

  • Democrat Tony Gosar of Pinedale has filed for House District 22, while Bubba Shivler of Jackson and Monte Olsen of Daniel will vie for the Republican nomination for the seat.

    House District 20

  • Stan Cooper and Frank Johnson, both of Kemmerer, have filed for the Republican nomination for House District 20.


  • Crosby Allen of Lander has filed for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senator, as has incumbent Mike Enzi of Gillette. Democrat Joyce Jansa Corcoran of Jackson will face off with the winner of the Republican race.
  • Two Democrats have filed to vie for the Democratic nomination for U.S. Representative: Ron Akin of Cheyenne and John Swett of Laramie. The democratic nominee will then face off with Republican Barbara Cubin in the general election.

    Statewide office

  • Five Republicans have filed for the governor's seat: Eli Bebout of Riverton, Ray Hunkins of Wheatland, Steve Watt of Rock Springs, Bill Sniffin of Lander and John Self of Sheridan. Kenneth Casner of Elk Mountain filed for this seat as well, and is expected to face off with Paul Hickey, Toby Simpson and Dave Freudenthal for the Democratic nomination for governor.
  • Incumbent Republican Secretary of State Joe Meyer will face Democrat Jim Fagan for the statewide seat.
  • Republican incumbent Max Maxfield will face Democrat Mark O. Harris for the state auditor position.
  • Three Democrats filed for the Superintendent of Public Instruction nomination: Kathy Emmons of Cheyenne, Christopher Shoults of Torrington and Richard Wiederspahn. Four men will vie for the Republican nomination: Trent Blankenship of Rawlins, John Mingle of Laramie, Jim Twiford of Douglas and Neil Waring.

    See The Archives for past articles.

    Copyright © 2002 Sublette Examiner
    All rights reserved. Reproduction by any means must have permission of the Publisher.
    Sublette Examiner, PO Box 1539, Pinedale, WY 82941   Phone 307-367-3203